Archive for May 22nd, 2009

Salmon with Mango Salsa Coating

smallsalsasalmon2

Wow. Only 5 ingredients. The great thing about this mango salsa is it keeps the salmon so moist when it is baked altogether. This is an adapted recipe from my free Costco cookbook. Hahah. The only thing I changed was I added mango and removed cumin. I’ll let the photos speak for themselves, make this a little less wordy, wrap it up and enjoy my Friday morning.

Salmon with Warm Mango Salsa Coating (serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 2 (6 oz.) salmon fillets
  • 1/2 cup salsa, drained
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1 mango, cubed
  • 3 Tbsp. chicken broth

*Double ingredients for 4 servings.

Quick Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2) Mix mayo, drained salsa, and cubes of mango in a bowl.

3) Cover surface of baking pan with thin layer of chicken broth. Place salmon fillets on, and slather mango salsa coating on top.

4) Bake for 20 minutes. Serve.

____________________________________________________________________________

Illustrated Directions:

1) Gather ingredients for salmon coating. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

saucesalmonsmall

2) Use a strainer to filter out unwanted salsa juices.

salsa7

3) Collect 1/2 cup of drained salsa.

salsa2

4) Put mayo and salsa together.

salsa5

5) Score squares on mangoes. Make smaller squares for smaller cubes. Pop em inside out.

mango3

6) I used a little cheese spreader to take my mango cubes off the peel.

cuttingmangosmall

7) Mix mangoes, mayo and salsa together.

salsa6

salsa4

8) Pour about 3 Tbsp. chicken broth into small baking pan with lip. Or if you’re using a larger pan, pour enough broth to cover the surface.

 

DSC_0105

9) Slather on mango salsa coating on surface of salmon fillets.

DSC_0107

10) Bake for 20 minutes, uncovered.

rawsalsasalmonsmall

11) Take out of oven, and enjoy!  We eat like this allllllllllll the time (not really).

DSC_0135

Whoever says my husband doesn’t eat well, I will punch in the face. HE ALWAYS EATS WELL. Sometimes I think that’s the only reason he married me. Or maybe because I pour him a nice big glass of wine after work every night. Keep him all relaxed and happy.

DSC_0134

 Just to prove the coating keeps this salmon moist, take a look!

DSC_0137

Going….

DSC_0140

Going………

DSC_0141

Gone. :)

DSC_0142

Enjoy your weekends everyone.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.