Foodbuzz review

DSC_0214

So, since I’m a newbie at the whole blogging thing (4, 5 weeks?) I decided to join Foodbuzz to see what the buzz was all about. How does it help food bloggers? As I get older it gets harder and harder to keep up with all these new networking sites (facebook, linkedin, etc.) and now Foodbuzz. I finally got the feel of how something like facebook works for me, but I’m still confused as to how Foodbuzz ‘works’. Not technically, but I mean it’s social aspect. From the first day I joined last week, I’ve had over 30 bloggers request my friendship. Yay! So I thank them for adding me, give some feedback on their websites. A few have written back as well with nice comments on my site. It has increased my daily hits significantly as I link my recipes to my foodbuzz profile, and I have gotten more exposure since joining.

But I don’t feel like I’m really making foodie friends as much as I’m seeing people add me to plug their own websites, or to ask for my vote on some food competition they are entered in. I can’t vote for you if I don’t know you that well, sorry. In fact, I’m a little hurt getting these mass emails on my foodbuzz profile asking me for my votes, or asking me to register onto your blogs. It’s like you just requested my friendship to get my vote. I thought you really liked me, *sniffle sniffle*. Ok, I’m not that oversensitive, but I am starting to realize that Foodbuzz is just a tool for promoting, to get your name out there, and that’s perfectly fine.

And the whole ‘buzzing’ thing, what is up with that? I don’t know what the buzz rankings mean. I understand that the more times you are buzzed, the higher the rank. Why do I get buzzed for recipes I’ve posted if I see that it had virtually no views? Why does one buzz a recipe? I’ve had recipes buzzed up to the 80’s by people. I’m guessing people buzz me so I buzz them, and then it gets so competitive that everyone’s buzzing each other to the top (the top of what?). But if we’re all at this top, what’s the point? Maybe it’s a gimmick, I don’t know.

I’m not saying anything negative about Foodbuzz, I think it’s a great way to network and promote and all that stuff. And I will probably continue to use it. But I willingly remain naive in the belief that I will make more genuine foodie friends by just writing on my blog and doing my own thing.

Leave a Reply

