Roasted Asparagus

asparagus4

I don’t think we’re in Asparagus Season quite yet.  I should really google it up and determine when the perfect time to buy these are…OR I could go to the local farmers’ market and see what they have. Oh that’s right, I have, and they have nothing yet. Since I live in Rochester, NY (more specifically, small city 8 hours north of New York City, or neighboring city of Buffalo, NY) we’ve just recently defrosted from our 8 month winter. We all joke around here that in Rochester, there are only 2 seasons, winter and construction. The road construction is to fix the large potholes we take as a souvenir from winter each year.

I’m drifting away from the subject. What was I talking about? Do I even know if asparagus is grown locally here anyway? I should do my research before I type. I will later. But I bought these at the supermarket for $1.50. They were the big, thick stalks. To me, they are a little older than I would’ve liked. The younger ones seem to be less stringy/chewy. I will have to make them again after I find better stalks. But I can still offer the recipe. It’s really a non-recipe recipe, it’s so easy to make it doesn’t require much direction. Wow, I really dragged this one out, didn’t I?

Here is a helpful link for FAQ about asparagus.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • olive oil
  • ground sea salt
  • lemon (optional)
  • Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2) Trim bottom of stalks (at least half an inch). Wash and pat dry with paper towel. On roasting pan, spread asparagus out in single layer. Drizzle olive oil over asparagus, and swish the pan back and forth to coat evenly. Salt them.

asparagus3

3) Roast for 10 minutes. They should come out a vibrant green, and look a little skinnier like the pic below.

asparagus2

4) Serve with a squirt of lemon, or sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. Or both. Or none.

asparagus1

Leave a Reply

